ZWA’s Michael van Gerwen was denied World Cup of Darts glory as his Netherlands team lost out to England in a thrilling final.

Having won two singles games and a pairs match, the Netherlands lead 2-1 and needed just one more win to be crowned champions for the third time.

Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis won the next two matches though to retain the trophy for England, who had earlier beaten an Austrian team containing ZWA’s Rowby John Rodriguez.

England’s biggest scare on the way to the final came from ZWA duo Cristo Reyes and Antonio Alcinas who, representing Spain, forced the number one seeds to a last-leg decider in the first round but lost out by five legs to four.